Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Roar

Roar

From the bestselling author of P.S., I Love You, a fiercely feminist story collection that blends fables with magical realism–perfect for fans of Roxane Gay.

In this singular and imaginative story collection, Cecelia Ahern illuminates the myriad ways in which women overcome adversity with wit, resourcefulness and compassion. Exploring dilemmas and aspirations that women everywhere will relate to, these unforgettable tales blend magical realism and familiar scenarios with startling and often hilarious results. In matters ranging from marriage and childrearing to politics and career, the heroines of these thought-provoking stories confront problems both mysterious and mundane: one woman is tortured by sinister bite marks that appear on her skin; another is swallowed up by the floor during a mortifying presentation; yet another resolves to return and exchange her boring husband at the store where she originally acquired him. As they wrestle with obstacles of all kinds, their reality is shaped by how others perceive them–and ultimately, how they perceive the power within themselves.

By turns sly, whimsical and affecting, these 30 short stories are an inspiring examination of what it means to be a woman today.



Read More

Genre: Fiction / Fiction / Short Stories (single Author)

On Sale: April 16th 2019

Price: $24.98

ISBN-13: 9781549116056

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"ROAR is a wild and daring collection. The stories are ingenious and surreal, brilliantly and hilariously articulating what it means to be a woman today. Cecelia Ahern has crafted something of a revolution within these pages. A powerful must-read."—Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo and Daisy Jones & The Six
Read More Arrow Icon
"These provocative and witty stories prove it's time to recognize Cecelia Ahern as one of our finest writers."—John Boyne, New York Times bestselling author of The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Read More Arrow Icon
"An empowering book for women, Cecelia Ahern uses wildly inventive stories to reveal a simple truth - the power to create the life we want to live has been inside each of us all along. The world Ahern creates on these pages is fantastic yet authentic. Every woman will recognize herself in these stories and be inspired by them."—Jennifer Palmieri, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Madam President
Read More Arrow Icon
"Curiously delightful...each story resonate[s] as simultaneously personal and universal...A sharp, breathtaking collection."—Kirkus Reviews
Read More Arrow Icon