Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Good Apology

A Good Apology

Four Steps to Make Things Right

In the vein of Hold Me Tight and The Body Keeps the Score, this paradigm-shifting book on apologies shows how they work, why they’re so hard, and why they are essential for rebuilding relationships.

We’ve all done something wrong or made a mistake or insulted someone — even if by accident. We’ve all been hurt and wanted the other person to help us heal. It may be surprising, but the breaches themselves aren’t the real problem; our inability to fix them is what causes us trouble.

In A Good Apology, Dr. Molly Howes uses her experiences with patients in her practice, research findings, and news stories to illustrate the power and importance of a thorough apology. She teaches how we can all learn to craft an effective apology with four straightforward steps.

An apology is a small-scale event between people, but it’s enormously powerful. This comprehensive book gives readers the tools to fix their relationships, make amends, and move forward. With it, you’ll fully understand the meaning and importance of this universal and timeless endeavor: a good apology.
Read More

Genre: Mind, Body, Spirit / Self-help / Communication & Social Skills

On Sale: June 2nd 2020

Price: $28 / $35 (CAD)

Page Count: 288

ISBN-13: 9781538701317

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews

Praise

"Dr. Howes' beautiful book is a needed antidote to an era in which division has come to seem inevitable and conflict unresolvable. A Good Apology counters with a premise combining humility about the capacity of even the best among to cause harm and the possibility of human growth even in our darkest moments. It helps us forgive ourselves, too."— Frances Moore Lappé, New York Times bestselling author of Diet for a Small Planet and Daring Democracy
"This is the definitive book on how to make an apology that actually matters, that heals both parties, and that leads to growth, joy, and peace of mind. Accessible, authoritative, and filled with convincing real-life scenarios from this consummate clinician's own work, The Good Apology teems with warmth, wisdom, tenderness, and an infectious zest for making things right."—Edward Hallowell, MD, nationally bestselling co-author of Driven to Distraction
Read More Read Less